Awards pay tribute to energy professionals’ ingenuity

Over 200 energy industry senior executives joined former swimming champion and host Mark Foster in congratulating the winners of the 2016 Energy Institute (EI) Awards, which were revealed at a ceremony in London on Thursday 10 November. Excellence in engineering, collaboration and public engagement towards greater sustainability and efficiency underpinned many of the winning projects.

Opening the event, EI President Prof Jim Skea CBE FEI said: “Energy fuels human progress and is delivered by highly skilled people whose dedication helps to develop and sustain society, often with little visibility to those that benefit. The EI Awards provide clear evidence of the ingenuity of energy professionals worldwide in delivering solutions to today’s energy challenges, and, at a time when we need to attract new talent and retain the talent we already have, I hope the example given by this year’s winners and nominees will encourage others and inspire us all.”

The 2016 EI Awards winners are:

Communication, sponsored by Repsol Sinopec
· National Grid for Power Responsive

Community Initiative, sponsored by Nexen CNOOC
Pakistan Poverty Alleviation Fund (PPAF) for Community Managed Hydropower Plants

Energy Champion, sponsored by Acre
· Dr Ibilola Amao FEI, Principal Consultant, Lonadek Nigeria

Highly commended:
Rachel Ward MEI, Sustainability Manager, London Metropolitan University

Energy Excellence, sponsored by PDVSA
· Dr Ann (Chun) Huang GradEI, Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Oxford for From materials science to smart grids

Environment, sponsored by CMS Cameron McKenna
· Saudi Aramco, EXPEC ARC for Uthmaniyah CCS and CO2-EOR Project

Innovation, sponsored by Ricardo Energy & Environment
· Peak Well Systems for IRIS-3D

Safety, sponsored by Shell
· Centrica for Generation Safe Leaders Programme

Technology, sponsored by Energy Technologies Institute
· Ikon Science for Ji-Fi – Joint Impedance and Facies Inversion

Young Energy Professional of the Year, sponsored by Aramco
· Louise Watson, Structural Engineer, Optimus Aberdeen

The 2017 EI Awards competition will open for entries on 30 January 2017.

For more information, visit