2023 AEMT Awards finalists revealed

Excellence in the electromechanical domain will be celebrated on Thursday 23 November at the annual awards of the Association of Electrical & Mechanical Trades (AEMT).

The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel in Coventry will play host to the presentation dinner. Awards will recognise professional endeavour, product innovation, project management, skills development, engineering prowess and service delivery.

Highlighted projects include solutions relevant to:
• The implementation of flood defences to protect the lives of 30 million people living below sea level.
• The regeneration of the drinking water supply of 3 million people across 250 cities.
• A reduction of CO2 emissions by 2,500 tonnes a year across just two projects.
• The use of hydropower to reduce CO2 emissions by 6 million tonnes.
• The irrigation of 3,000 hectares of land helping to yield more profitable farming, and reduce weekly shopping bills.

The awards ceremony concludes an all-day event, the AEMT’s Annual Conference (more details at www.aemtconference.com).

The 39 finalists across seven award categories are listed below.

Product of the Year – sponsored by DFA Media Group
• ABB: IE5 SynRM Increased Safety Motor
• Megger: ADX
• Menzel: Pressurized Explosion Proof (EXP) Motors for Zone1
• Preformed Windings: QualCoil Life

Project of the Year – sponsored by EMIR Software
• ABB: Lister Drive Greener Grid Project
• Bedford Pumps: Fulfil Flood Mitigation Project for Indonesia
• Houghton International: The Onshore Wind Turbine Life-Extension Project
• Menzel: All from a Single Source – State Water Supply with a Slip Ring Motor with Brush Lifting Device
• MKE Engineering Group: Browndown Pumping Station
• Preformed Windings: Project Holter
• Sulzer: Retrofit of Five Membrane Feed Pumps for a Desalination Plant

Service Centre of the Year – sponsored by ABB
• Avonmouth Engineering Services
• Brothers-EMR
• Fenflow Engineering
• Hayley 247 Engineering Services
• Hidrostal’s Service & Distribution Centre in Castleford
• MKE Engineering Group
• Neutronic Technologies
• Sulzer’s Aberdeen Service Centre

Supplier of the Year – sponsored by Megger
• Bearings and Drives
• Menzel Great Britain
• Preformed Windings
• Sulzer
• TEC Electric Motors

Contribution to Skills & Training Award – sponsored by Sulzer
• CovElec
• Hidrostal: Incorporating Avonmouth Engineering Services, Bedford Pumps & Hidrostal
• Ian Pattinson: The Faraday Centre
• MKE Expert Training Day
• Rotamec Engineering Solutions

Rising Star Award – sponsored by TEC Electric Motors
• Josh Gannon: Central Group
• Jack Simmons: CovElec
• Josh Bottomley: EMiR
• Joe Felton: Neutronic Technologies
• Jac Pearce: Preformed Windings
• Riley Burton: Rotamec
• Cameron Calvert: Sulzer

Diversity in Engineering Award – sponsored by Preformed Windings
• Hidrostal: Incorporating Avonmouth Engineering Services, Bedford Pumps & Hidrostal
• Jacobs and upReach Engineering Springboard
• Sulzer UK